Workshops 2013

From Nottinghack Wiki
Revision as of 18:46, 24 May 2013 by Dex (talk | contribs) (Upcoming events)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

This is a list of the proposed workshops and activities for the year 2013. We are running workshops on the first and third Thursday and last weekend of every month. These workshops are open to everyone, so please spread the word.

These will generally start at 7.00pm and will involve some activity or skill share.

The dates are listed below along with some details.

If you have an idea for a workshop or are willing to run a workshop then please drop me (Matt Little) an email at matt_AT_re-innovation.co.uk. We can help sort out the materials and logistics. This is YOUR hackspace. It relies upon YOU to get involved and make this work.

Upcoming events

Date Day Workshop Who? Cost Confirmed?
16th May Thursday
25th 26th May Sat Sun
28th May Tuesday 10-4 (drop in) Design and make a clock (kids workshop!) James Hebron £8 Y
29th May Wednesday 10-4 (drop in) Design and build a toy car (kids workshop!) James Hebron £15 Y
1st June Saturday 1-5pm Lockpicking Warren Rockley £5 Y
6th June Thursday
8th June Saturday 11am-4pm Introduction to Arduino: How to use electronics to make your projects better! James Fowkes & Ian Dickinson £10 Y
15th June Saturday Ant build and racing, child friendly workshop Rob Haywood with Kitronik £10 Y
20th June Thursday
29th 30th June Sat Sun
4th July Thursday
6th July Saturday 1-5pm Lockpicking Warren Rockley £5 Y
18th July Thursday
27th 28th July Sat Sun
1st August Thursday
3rd August Saturday 1-5pm Lockpicking Warren Rockley £5 Y
15th August Thursday
24th 25th August Sat Sun
5th September Thursday
7th September Saturday 1-5pm Lockpicking Warren Rockley £5 Y
19th September Thursday
28th 29th September Sat Sun ARDUINO 101
3rd October Thursday
5th October Saturday 1-5pm Lockpicking Warren Rockley £5 Y
17th October Thursday
26th 27th October Sat Sun
2nd November Saturday 1-5pm Lockpicking Warren Rockley £5 Y
7th November Thursday
21st November Thursday
23rd 24th November Sat Sun ARDUINO 101
5th December Thursday
7th December Saturday 1-5pm Lockpicking Warren Rockley £5 Y
19th December Thursday
28th 29th December Sat Sun

Proposed Events

(if item crossed through, then it has been added to the list above)

Idea Notes Who? Cost Potential Date
PCB milling Using a CNC machine to mill PCBs Matt Little
Advanced Soldering Techniques (inc SMD soldering) Roger Light
Sourdough bread baking John Higham
fruit tree grafting John Higham
composting in general John Higham
worm composting and building worm bins John Higham
forest gardening John Higham
easy/self-sowing veg and salads John Higham
Arduino Weekends
RGB LED shield Matt Little
Talks Short interesting talks James Hayward
Jet Engines Dominic Morrow
Stirling Engines Michael M
Drawdio
Soldering Basics Flashing badge?
Crypto Party James Hayward / Marcus?
??? Useless Machine Martin Raynesford ideas Martin Raynesford
Knitting machine Gee?
Git Basics James Hayward, Mouse, Marcus?
Kite Photography Dominic Morrow
Getting the most from your Camera Jake Howe? David Hayward?
Joule Thief Derby Makers kit
CAD Inkscape/Draftsight James Hayward? David Hayward?
Model Rocketry James Fowkes
Pinhole Cameras
Beam Robots/Solarbotics Matt Little / James Hayward
Lockpicking Warren
Young Maker Stuff
PCB making workshop Dirty Electronics
Welding
Solar power weekend Matt Little

Past events

These were awesome. You missed out.

Date Day Workshop Who? Cost Confirmed?
5th Jan Saturday 1-5pm Lockpicking Warren Rockley £5 Y
17th Jan Thursday Screen Printing Basics Skill Share Matt Little £5 (max 10 people)
26th 27th Jan Sat Sun
2nd Feb Saturday 1-5pm Lockpicking Warren Rockley £5 Y
7th Feb Thursday Lights a go-go

Fun with El wire, LEDs and Lasers all to head out on Nottinghams light night

http://www.mynottingham.gov.uk/index.aspx?articleid=20308

Matt Little Freee! Y
8th Feb Friday Light Night in Nottingham Centre
21st Feb Thursday 7-9pm Make a rubber stamp workshop Matt Little £5 - including all materials to make a rubber stamp from your own image file
23rd Feb Sat Leathermaking workshop Jake Howe
2nd March Saturday 1-5pm Lockpicking Warren Rockley £5 Y
2nd 3rd March Saturday 10-6pm Sunday 1-5pm Timestreams Hackday http://ai.timestreams.org/ Limited numbers
7th Mar Thursday 7-9pm Surface mount soldering Roger Light £7
9th Mar Sat 11-4pm ARDUINO 101 James Fowkes/Ian Dickinson £10 Y
15th-24th Mar Mon - Sun National Science and Engineering Week
21st Mar Thursday Producing basic PCBs Matt Little £5 - including materials to take home an Arduino circuit board. Y
23rd Mar Saturday Science in the Park at Wollaton Hall
30th 31st Mar Sat Sun
4th April Thursday
6th April Saturday 1-5pm Lockpicking Warren Rockley £5 Y
7th April Sunday Edinburgh Mini Maker Faire
10th April POSTPONED to 28th May Design and make a clock (kids workshop!) James Hebron £8 Postponed
11th April POSTPONED to 29th May Design and build a toy car (kids workshop!) James Hebron £15 Postponed
18th April Thursday
27th 28th April Sat Sun UK MakerFaire
2nd May Thursday 7-10pm Build a Bat Listener Matt Little £20
4th May Saturday 1-5pm Lockpicking Warren Rockley £5 Y